No Business Like Snow Business


Even Wile E. loves winter!

“Getting an inch of snow is like winning 10 cents in the lottery.” ~Bill Watterson

At least it wasn't Vikings

The first thing I thought of when I saw the video of the Metrodome roof collapsing in Minneapolis? I’m really glad nobody got hurt. The next thing?

Global warming? What global warming? If anything, we might be headed for a Little Ice Age. And that’s all right by me.

There’s something about a snowy day that awakes a very powerful, very instinctual feeling in me. I don’t know much about my ancestry, but if I had to guess, I’d say they endured 2/3 of an average year wearing skins and furs with no central heat, all while trying to fend off endless invading armies of Romans, Vikings, Huns, Mongols, or Tatars. Or maybe they were among those armies. Anyway, I know they didn’t have Snuggies or Swiss Miss at the end of the day to keep them warm. They just had their badass selves and a warrior’s spirit.

My favorite time of year

There’s a genetic memory left over in me from those times long past. When the flakes start to fall, I start to get worked up. Since I know I can’t exactly go out and sack a village, I channel my energy into ice hockey, or maybe a nice brisk walk in the snow. This doesn’t happen on hot summer days (in fact, I turn into a giant slug when the temperature gets above 80 or so.) Give me 20 over 70 any day of the week.

Many people dream about living on the beach in a warm climate. I’d rather have a small stone cabin in the High Rockies, western Maine, or perhaps the Cascades or Sierras. I am one with the snow. So what if I have to wake up slightly earlier to scrape it off my car windows?

Everyone in my part of the country, many of whom aren’t used to snow, go out and buy all the eggs and milk and toilet paper they can. I find myself laughing at them, since I’m already prepared. Even if I weren’t, I could go out and catch some fish or bring down a rabbit with my longbow. Yes, the warrior blood still runs in me. Their ancestors may have been farmers or blacksmiths or bards. Mine were probably running barechested through snow wielding battle-axes (or at least I’d like to think so.)

Even many of my favorite animals are winter’s animals: the wolf, the barn owl, the Arctic fox, the stoat. All of them survivors.

And there’s a softer side of it, too. Winter really is the earth’s way of taking a long nap. There are few birds singing, no rustle of wind through leaves, only a few hardy plants whose foliage is bright and colorful this time of year. It’s a time for quiet reflection, good hearty food, Christmas specials on TV, football and hockey.

Sacking villages can wait. Until then, let it snow, and the more the better!

Got snow? Send me pictures! I’m at wikusandmurdock@yahoo.com!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on December 12, 2010.

One Response to “No Business Like Snow Business”

  1. As I believe you know, I, too, prefer the cold. I’m not a fan of ice on the roads, but I love snow. Even so, in the event that hunting and fishing need to be done, I’m glad to know you’re in my tribe. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

