Reason #78 I’m Glad I Don’t Have Kids


“We can’t just leave it up to the parents.” ~Michelle Obama, 12/13/2010

Wonder if they'll riot if their soda gets taken away?

Yes, I’m sure I could in fact come up with 77 reasons before this one. Today, however, I’ll be focusing on just one.

The old saying “eat to live, don’t live to eat” may be the solution to a number of problems facing America today: obesity, heart disease, diabetes, cancer. I’m not one of those health nuts, but I do think this country is slowly digging its own grave with a knife and fork. That being said, it is not the government’s responsibility to dictate who is allowed to eat what, when and where (as exemplified today by the passage of the child nutrition bill.)

I’m glad I don’t have kids when it comes to feeding time. From what I’ve seen, it’s got to be worse than walking into a tiger’s cage holding a raw, bloody steak. I have no desire to cook every night for a kid that may not even be interesting in eating what I slave over, nor do I want to have to worry about whether gluten-free or casein-free is the best option, or whether my kid is getting his daily nutritional intake of riboflavin, or whether he will fling the pureed squash onto the floor yet again. Call me selfish, but I just don’t. Consequently, I don’t have kids and don’t foreseee myself having kids. That’s the way it is.

Americans, by and large, have grown accustomed to letting someone else raise their kids. It could be the government, the after-school program, day care, the TV or Internet (shudder, shudder) or another relative. There’s no such thing as a perfect family, but there is such a thing as parent(s) taking an active role in raising their children. This includes mealtimes, and modeling healthy eating habits. Sorry, Mrs. Obama, the parents are still a child’s best role model in learning healthy habits.

Can’t handle it? Don’t have children. I may be childless, and squirm in the presence of most children, but I believe having a child is a near-sacred responsibility. It is not for everyone.

I don’t think my childhood was perfect in a Leave It to Beaver sort of way, but when I look back, I see that my mom and dad taught me important things around the table. Two options: take it or leave it. Always use good manners. Try it, you might like it. And there was always a chance to really talk about what had happened that day. While I understand that this sort of thing may be a relic of the past, it is something that deserves consideration for revival.

Really…don’t expect the government to feed, educate, medicate, and discipline your children for you. It is YOUR responsibility. (Honestly, do you want the same people who run the Postal Service, the VA medical system, Amtrak, and any other federal bureaucracy to be responsible for your child’s well-being? I sure wouldn’t.) If you can’t afford children, consider investing in birth control. I hear it’s cheaper in the long run.

If the federal government is going to be providing school lunches, why not use the old take-it-or-leave-it model? A sandwich, fruit, crackers, and milk or juice is sufficient enough. Kids, like cats, will eat when they get hungry enough. (Oh, and please, please bring back P.E. classes for school. That’s a big reason for the spike in childhood obesity.)

So, if you are a parent, and you’re already doing these things, I applaud you. There aren’t enough like you. There’s too many who take the lazy road and expect the government to do everything for them

Yes We Can….leave it up to the parents. Taking responsibility starts at home, not in Washington.

Drop me a line at wikusandmurdock@yahoo.com!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on December 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

