On This Festivus Eve…


“Welcome, newcomers. The tradition of Festivus begins with the airing of grievances. I got a lot of problems with you people! And now you’re gonna hear about it!” ~Frank Costanza, “Seinfeld”

I need to get rid of this cold!

Ah…another year, another Festivus. It’s my personal favorite of the secular winter holidays (Solstice being too generic, and me being far too Caucasian for Kwanzaa.) For the record, I do celebrate Christmas, but I ask: what other holiday allows one to beat up one’s relatives (Feats of Strength) or enumerate all the ways in which one’s family has let them down in the past year (Airing of Grievances?) Not to mention the Festivus pole itself: it’s aluminum, pretty eco-friendly, cat-proof, and goes with any decor.

Looking back on this year, at one point I might have had a lot of grievances to air. This summer I was out of work and scrambling for any livelihood I could find short of providing some illicit service through Craigslist. It was a tough few months. Then, just when I thought I was at the end of my rope, I found a full-time position in a field that suited me well.

Sure, there are things that still irritate me, things that annoy me, things that make me want to bust out with my best impersonation of B.A. Baracus. But in perspective, they’re only little things. As the old Midwestern adage goes, things could be a lot worse.

Wile E. Coyote, patron saint of bad days

Instead of airing grievances, I’m trying to be thankful for the little things. Not in a superficial way at all, mind you. I’m not the kind who reads the Normal Vincent Peale and Chicken Soup books, or belongs to one of what I call the Happiness Cults. There’s a difference in being blindly optimistic and being cautiously so. Think “hope for the best, but prepare for the worst.”

And thankful I am. In this Little Depression, I’m very thankful to have a full-time job, a home of my own, plenty of food to eat. I’m also thankful I don’t have to depend on the whims of others to survive. Times are tough all over, but I’m cautiously optimistic that not only will I get through, but I’ll be a better woman for it.

This year also taught me the real meaning of one door closing and another opening. While I was certainly disheartened to lose my full-time job, which I’d held for over five years, it also led me to another opportunity. Maybe it was God’s way of telling me it was time to move on. Whatever the case, things worked out in the end.

I couldn’t have gotten through the tough times without my friends. I truly have been given the gift of friendship. Though I won’t specifically call out my friends in this post, they know who they are. My particular thanks to A.K., T.K., A.J.H., J.W., D.G., E.S. You guys really are, to use the words of Wikus, special angels. Words can’t begin to say how thankful I am for your friendship and kindness.

So, with Festivus and Christmas this week, and 2011 right around the corner, what will 2011 hold for me? I’m not sure exactly, but my goal is to get at least something published, regardless of how small it is. A journey of a thousand miles begins with one step. And before I know it, I’ll have walked a thousand miles.

It’s another Festivus miracle!

Happy Festivus, one and all!

(Author’s Note: I’ve been sick as an invisible dog these past few days, hence the delay in posts. Many thanks to all those who read on a regular basis. You guys are the best!)

 

 

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on December 22, 2010.

One Response to “On This Festivus Eve…”

  1. I think I have only seen one complete episode of Seinfeld, if even that, and it wasn’t the one about Festivus, so your blog is not only fun, but more importantly, it has been educational. So Happy Festivus and Merry Christmas! I also like all the gifts for the Murdy Christmas except for one (and you probably know which one).

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

