I’ve Got Everything I Need (Almost)


“In the old days, it was not called the Holiday Season; the Christians called it ‘Christmas’ and went to church; the Jews called it ‘Hanukkah’ and went to synagogue; the atheists went to parties and drank. People passing each other on the street would say ‘Merry Christmas!’ or ‘Happy Hanukka!h’ or (to the atheists) ‘Look out for the wall!'” ~Dave Barry

A very Murdy Christmas!

(Thanks to Leanne for the lovely wallpaper, and thanks to the Blues Brothers for the awesome song title.)

This one’s short and to the point, just like the real meaning of Christmas is short and to the point. I only asked for one thing for Christmas this year, and I don’t even really need it. A basic IPod. Looking at my life, I already have everything I really need, and for the first time in my 31 1/2 years, I see that.

I have a family who, though we don’t always see eye to eye, is loving and supportive and gives me plenty of space for my individuality and my crazy, quixotic pursuits.

I have many friends, throughout the world, some of whom I’ve never met in person, with whom I can talk, laugh, cry, and discuss whether Movie Murdock and TV Murdock could beat Godzilla and King Kong in a fight.

I have enough food, a roof over my head, running water,Β a car that runs, a stable job. (If you can say the same, you’re wealthier than 90 percent of the world’s population. Consider it for a moment, then consider how blessed you really are.)

I have the ability to laugh at myself and realize that the things I may think of as hardships are actually learning opportunities in disguise.

I have my own individual personality that refuses to accept anything without a friendly debate or a questioning mind. Individuality, in a society that treasures conformity, can be a great gift in itself.

I have faith, maybe not in the traditional sense, but faith enough to know that God is much bigger than me and has everything under control. And better yet, I’ve come to know that he’ll always help me out when I need it most, and doesn’t expect me to be anyone other than myself.

I have the wisdom I didn’t have ten or even five years ago, the wisdom of learning from not just my successes, but my failures too.

I have my very own Murdock jacket…what else do I need?

The one thing I’m lacking, of course, is a mate to share all of this with. If it’s meant to be, I’m going to keep my eyes and ears (and heart) open in 2011. It’s been said that these things happen when we least expect them to. I know it’s also time for me to venture beyond the comfort of locked doors and high walls and just see if there might be someone out there waiting for me.

And I could chalk it up as one more Christmas miracle.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

Merry Christmas

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on December 24, 2010.

2 Responses to “I’ve Got Everything I Need (Almost)”

  1. I absolutely loooooved reading this. We really are blessed, once we move past the trivial materialistic junk. Merry Murdy Christmas! πŸ˜€ *hugs and love and all that jazz*

  2. I agree….have a very Murdy Christmas…..with lots of fruit cake!

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8γƒγƒΌγƒ‰γƒ«γŠγ¨γ“ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

