Ash Wednesday? Already?


You bastards! Why are you torturing me like this? Why?! ~Ashley J. “Ash” Williams

Hail to the king, baby

As a confirmed CINO (Catholic in name only), I have such mixed feelings about Ash Wednesday. It’s supposed to be a time for atonement, mourning and repentance, which I’m all about. It’s also the first day of Lent: the season of self-sacrifice in the 46 days leading up to Easter Sunday. Many Christian denominations, including Catholicism, practice a personal sacrifice of some kind during Lent.

I’ve never taken part in that Lenten tradition, though I’ve wanted to. This year I’m waffling. It isn’t too late. Although many choose to give up red meat, smoking, red wine, or their collection of vintage Transformers, my intentions are vague. So, my devoted P&Q readers, I thought I might get your input. Several options are out there, including:

The A-Team, movie and TV show. Not sure how I’d do during a 46-day dry spell, but if it were in the name of genuine self-reflection and sacrifice, I might be able to pull it off. I could still get away with blogging and Deviantarting, just not actually watching the show and the movie.

Sweets. They remain my one major vice. Could I spend a barren 40 days without the chocolaty goodness I’ve come to love? Never have attempted this in 30 years, but again, if it’s for a good cause…

Meat. A traditional favorite. I’ve been told going meatless would be good for me and the environment as well. It’s the siren song of hot wings that gets me every time, but this wouldn’t be a bad time to go the route of vegetarianism.

Watching movies/TV when I should be writing. Come to think of it, I could get a hell of a lot of writing done if I chose this option. But how would I keep up with the March Madness tourney? Newspapers, I suppose…

In the end, I’ll probably choose from these four options. I’m overdue for a Biblical-style period of sacrifice. The question is, which one? Any ideas, readers? (I’ll try and let you know which one I select.)

 

Nothing says sacrifice like Bruce Campbell.

Got comments? A suggestion on what Yours Truly might give up for Lent? Send ’em my way and be sure to click “Like!”

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on March 9, 2011.

2 Responses to “Ash Wednesday? Already?”

  1. I’m Roman Catholic and I gave up chocolate and all sweet things one year. It was tough but I managed it. This year I decided instead of giving something up I’d dedicate myself to reading my Bible each day in an attempt to get closer to God because although I go to church every week I tend to drift and it makes me feel bad.(I guess that’s giving up some time?) Loved the article. I don’t think I could give up the A Team lol!

  2. If you give up TAT, then who will be doing the fan forum viewing with me?!?!

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

