Live From NY, It’s Saturday Night Snow!


With luck, it might even snow for us. ~Haruki Murakami

If I get hungry enough I'll have to eat one of them

P&Q’s first road trip to points north has proven a very weird one. First there were all the strange customs of this weird alien planet known as New Jersey we’ve crash-landed upon (full-service gas stations? WTF?) and the cancellation of the guests I’d come to see in the first place. Now, as I look out my hotel room window, I’m in the middle of the most freakish October snowstorm in nearly a century. You know, the one the Weather Channel is probably running on a 24/7 loop? Yep, that’s it. I’m right in the middle of the whole thing.

Yesterday it was a lovely late autumn with color galore and temps in the mid-50s; today it looks like I should be breaking out my copy of “Winter Wonderland.” I never understood weather and I don’t suppose anyone else does either. However, thanks to the good people at the local Chinese food place, everything is still good. I’m not gonna be forced to hunt for elk any time soon.

There are several positive things I can gain from this whole experience. I’m not at work and don’t have to be back at work until nearly noon on Halloween. I’m in the company of one of the best friends anyone could have. I have an entire uninterrupted day to write and relax. There’s a gorgeous view from my room (see below for what I’m talking about) and for once, I don’t have a room overlooking an alley or a dumpster. I’ve got plenty of food, internet access, a warm set of clothes. Oh, and the airline agreed to change my flight for no cost to me because of Mother Nature’s interference.

I just gotta ask: does a vacation get any better than that? I don’t think so. Weather Channel, you’ve got it all wrong.

 

Don’t forget to click “Like” if you enjoyed this post and subscribe to P&Q to get your daily fix of news, humor, and pop culture craziness! These last few posts at the end of October will mark a hiatus of sorts for P&Q as I’m going into NaNoWriMo next month. I will stop in every few days with an update.

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on October 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

