Nanowrimophobia


Nanowrimophobia: n. An overwhelming fear rooted in the vicinity of the lower intestines that one will not be able to create a 50,000-word manuscript within 30 days. ~The author

It was a very dark and a very stormy night...

Tomorrow begins, for me and countless thousands of others, a grand experiment. For those who may not know, November is also National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), the object of which is to crank out at least 50,000 words of fiction before the month is over. It sounds easy. In truth, it’s a little under 2,000 words per day. Maybe it’s not so easy.

Me? Even thinking about it, I’m scared to death. I’ve been telling myself to do this for three years now. This year there will be no excuses. To paraphrase that immortal writer 50 Cent, I’m gonna get “writ” or die tryin’. There are only two tiny little problems I see with this plan of mine.

I have absolutely no idea what this novel will be about. Yes, there are ideas, but none of them has pushed itself to the forefront. I suppose, like the A-Team, that I’ll just make it up as I go along. I’ll take the scrap metal of half-formed ideas, incomplete characters and dead-end plots and weld, forge and wrest them together into a tank. Or a helicopter. Something like that. I feel like I have to, like the Postaday experiment during October was a dry run.

There’s also the matter of my own private insecurities. Will my fledgling novel be any good? (I have to keep reminding myself of Hemingway’s famous line that all first drafts are shit.) Will anybody want to read it? Can I stick with a definite goal despite my work obligations and AS-related fatigue? Do I even know what I’m doing?

The best news is I’m not alone in all of this. I plan on using every resource at my disposal: the NaNoWriMo site and local gatherings, not to mention my friends and family supporting me through this crazy experiment. I’ve also pulled out my entire arsenal of writing books and prompt books. No stone is going unturned here. Oh, and I plan on disabling Facebook and all my solitaire games. Nothing saps a writer’s time and energy like opportunities for idle hands.

Any well-wishes are welcome. I will let my readers know that P&Q will be on the back burner all during November as I undertake my novel. I’ll do my best to update at least once a week and, hopefully, let everyone know how I’m doing.

To all those who are NaNoWriMoing along with me, all the best to you! To my faithful readers, I thank all of you for sticking with me through thick and thin. You’ve helped keep me going and you’ve given me loads of inspiration. If my novel ever gets published (!), I’ll dedicate it to all of you.

If you enoyed this post, be sure to click “Like” and subscribe to P&Q! Email the author anytime at wikusandmurdock@yahoo.com!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on November 1, 2011.

7 Responses to “Nanowrimophobia”

  1. good luck, HMH

  2. Good luck! You are not alone- I have no idea what I’m going to write about either. The words will come! 🙂

  3. If you can write this blog, you can sure win Nano. I’ve done it and won it twice now, but I failed the daily blog challenge, I only managed about half the year. Don’t panic! And disabling solitaire is certainly a good plan, I had to give up reading novels to find the time. You can do it! (And hopefully so can I, even with no muse this year…)

  4. I’m with the previous commenter. If you can blog as well as you do, a novel will be a cinch. Remember, just write. Just get it out of your head and let your fingers channel the thoughts in your head. You can clean it up later. I tried NaNo for the first time last year and won, so it can be done. I, too, gave up on everything else besides work and church–no gym, no parties or social gatherings, no cooking, etc.–and it worked just fine. Granted I was down to eating applesauce and alum by the end of the month, but hey. 🙂

    You can totally do it because you are creative and hecka fun to read. I’ll look forward to your update blogs….and I’ll totally understand if you don’t have time to write them. Enjoy the month, and make sure to share your experiences when you come out of the other side of the tunnel.

  5. Good luck on the novel! I wouldn’t know where to start ><

  6. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll crank out an awesome novel. I look forward to seeing your updates.

  7. It makes me feel better to know you waited 3 years before you did NaNoWriMo. I’m only at year 2…so maybe next year. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

