Movember’s Over, Save the ‘Staches


Since I don’t smoke, I decided to grow a mustache…it is better for the health. ~Salvador Dali

Mustaches can be sexy

There are times I really wish I’d been born male. Like when I really have to go to the bathroom during a ballgame and the line at the ladies’ room is way too long, or when tryouts for the high school football team came along. There’s also the little matter of Movember (movember.org), the nationwide initiative for guys to grow a mustache in November for greater awareness of prostate cancer. Because, as it turns out, I kinda dig ‘staches. (There’s a few women who can grow one…however, I neither recommend nor condone this practice.)
 
Why my attraction to the hirsute upper lip? I chalk it up in part to my Gen X upbringing. Hell, every manly man worth his salt in the 70s and 80s wore a ‘stache. Tom Selleck. Burt Reynolds. Goose Gossage. Even my dad, who’s now a clean-shaven guy, had one back in the day. And there was nothing wrong with that. I didn’t see those guys as weird or pervy or having strange fetishes. My mom watched Magnum, P.I. religiously…and I guess it rubbed off on me. Mustaches may be passe, but I think there’s time for a revival.
 
Everything has a cycle when it comes to fashion. Guys: I think it’s time to ditch the three-day stubble and the soul patch and the hipster goatee and go back to the ‘stache. Whether you call it a cookie duster or crumb catcher or portable tea strainer, there’s a style to suit every guy out there. I for one think the time is right to bring back the ‘stache. Need more proof? Here we go:
 

Johnny Depp (OK, he has a beard too)

 

Bruce Campbell

 
 

Jude Law

 
 Almost every reigning member of the Sexiest Man Alive fraternity (including current champ Bradley Cooper) has worn a ‘stache at some point or another. Guys: the time is right. Take it from a single girl. Just one word of advice to you would-be ‘stache cultivators: if you decide to go with the Mo, just be sure it’s kept neat, clean and trimmed. Nobody likes looking at (or kissing) a straggly ‘stache. But if you do decide to cover your upper lip, you’ll have gained at least one fan here. Don’t say no to the mo…say yes! And just maybe you’ll be spreading prostate cancer awareness at the same time. How’s that for a blend of style and social responsibility?
 
 
 
Enjoyed this post? Be sure to click “Like,” subscribe for your daily fix of facial hair and pop culture madness, and tell all your friends, all right?
~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on December 3, 2011.

One Response to “Movember’s Over, Save the ‘Staches”

  1. Ooo, Jude Law’s stach wins!! Great post, if I was a man, I’d have some funky facial hair 🙂 cuz it’d be fun… I think.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

