With A Little Help From My Friends


Remember, George: no man is a failure who has friends. ~from “It’s a Wonderful Life”

Christmas Eve is here. The strangest thing too…I’m actually feeling happy and content. I’m not rich and I’m not model-gorgeous and I’m certainly not sitting on top of the world…but I have just what I need. A good job that I love. A car that runs. A roof over my head and a warm bed at night. Most important of all, though, I have friends. I may not say it enough, but I appreciate so much all that my friends have done and continue to do for me. That’s what this post is for.

Because it’s impossible for me to send gifts, or even Christmas cards, to all my friends, this is the next best thing I could do. May you all have a blessed Christmas and a prosperous 2012.

To Emma S.: You are an inspiration to me with your ebullient spirit and never-say-die attitude. It’s been a privilege getting to know you even though we’re separated by six time zones. I hope you continue to pursue your dreams and that our paths cross next year. A Fighting Nighthawk Commando doesn’t know the meaning of “quit” and neither do you.

To Amy K: For as long as we’ve known one another, I’ve looked up to you for your dedication to your work. Not only are you brave and honorable, you’re the kind of person I aspire to be. May you continue to be blessed…and I’ll be seeing you soon.

To A.J.: What can I say that hasn’t been said? You are like the sister I never had. I so rarely meet someone who “gets it” as much as you. It was a blast meeting you for the first time this past year. You’re an awesome friend, a terrific mom and an amazingly talented artist. I know you’re your own worst critic, but I wouldn’t say it if it weren’t true.

To Lisa C.: You helped teach me the true meaning of overcoming adversity. Life has thrown you more than a few curveballs, and you’re the best I know at hitting them. You’re a true friend and you deserve happiness and peace more than anyone I know. May 2012 bring you the opportunities you want.

To Jo Ann: Angels do exist on this Earth and you’re living proof of that. I cannot thank you enough for all you have done for me. If that book ever gets done (and it will), I’m dedicating it to you.

To the Three Amigos of Southeast: This is a first for me, co-workers who actually “get” me and my goofy jokes. If the Zombie Apocalypse actually goes down one day I want you guys on my team. Lock ‘n load.

To Dena: I know we don’t see one another much anymore, but thank you for all you do for the AS community. You helped me find my own “true north” and that’s worth more than any gift.

To my fellow regular correspondent bloggers: P&Q is such a success because of you. I had no idea there were so many cool people in the blogosphere. It’s been a privilege getting to know you guys and to read your work. Rock on in 2012.

And to my readers: I wouldn’t enjoy doing this so much if it weren’t for you. This one’s for you…keep reading and we’ll see where we go in 2012.

Thanks to ALL who regularly stop by P&Q. Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah and Happy New Year!

"I love you, man...and man, and man"

Enjoyed this post? Be sure to click “Like” and subscribe to P&Q so you’ll never miss another moment of inspired madness!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on December 24, 2011.

2 Responses to “With A Little Help From My Friends”

  1. Hope you have a Merry Christmas and a great New Year!

  2. I’m not sure I’m the kind of person you should aspire to be, but thanks for the compliment and Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

