If I Were A Rich Author…


You use your money to buy privacy because during most of your life you aren’t allowed to be normal.

~Johnny Depp

What do you mean, this is only dirt?

Welcome to 2012, muchachos y muchachas! I survived and so did you. Which brings me to a most important subject to kick off the new year: money. So many people make finances one of their resolutions. Me? I’ve never had much money. Let alone enough to make resolutions out of. If I make enough every month to keep the lights on, the stomachs full and the bookshelves heavy with good reading, I consider that enough. Too many people out there have no job at all. I should be grateful. Right?
 
I can agree with that for the most part. “Live simply, so that others may simply live” is a favorite saying of mine. I turn the thermostat way down and recycle and shop at thrift stores and use coupons as much as I can. I could teach Ebenezer Scrooge a thing or two about pinching pennies. I’m the quintessential starving artist, except the part about starving. I won’t go hungry when there’s a hundred perfectly good uses for rice and ramen noodles (not to mention a lake full of fish) out there. But I am an artist. Unless you have amazing talent and/or know the right people, art isn’t usually the way to fame and fortune.
 

Why yes, I *am* richer than the Queen

I have a hard time envisioning myself with a $100K salary, let alone a $1M or more haul. What in the world would I do with so much money if I suddenly had it? I, who have spent my entire adult life scrimping and saving and shopping at discount stores? Here’s some ideas, and since I tend to be a visual thinker, let this be a fantasy slide show. Lights, please…
 
 A scholarship fund for deserving young adults on the autism spectrum who otherwise might not go to college
 

A piece of land in the West to be used as a sanctuary for free-range mustangs. (Anyone who’s ever seen the Range Rider episode of The A-Team knows what I’m talking about.)

Another trust fund for deserving kids to have age-appropriate books in the home. Regardless of what anyone says, literacy IS the main key to success in life.

And, if there’s anything left over by then:

A modest house with enough space for me and my many four-legged friends. Maybe Idaho or Wyoming.

Lessons in one of these. Pilot (hopefully) included.

So, at the end of the day, I’m still living simply even if I ever did strike it rich. Because there are so many good causes and not enough money for them all, know what I mean?

Happy 2012 to my readers…what are your resolutions/goals for this year? Special shout out to ElieAnn, the winner of the Boxing Day 1,000 Comment Contest! I’ll be contacting you to send you your prize. Congrats!

Sky’s the limit in 2012, guys!

Enjoyed this post? Be sure to click “Like” and subscribe to P&Q so you’ll never miss another moment of madness. More contests to come in 2012 too!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on January 2, 2012.

5 Responses to “If I Were A Rich Author…”

  1. What a fantastic way to spend money. I believe in this, you are so wise–and rich because of the way you think about the world. Wow. Great post.

  2. Great way to spend the money! Especially the land in Wyoming. Mmm, mountains.

  3. […] Mad Murdock on “If I were a rich author….”  […]

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

