P and Q Presents: A Dozen Blogs I Dig (And You Will Too)


It’s a Major Award. I won it! ~from “A Christmas Story”

Wikus just got a major award!

Ack…WordPress decided to eat my first version of this post! Curses! That being said, the time has come for me to spread a little of the love around. Several of my fellow bloggers, among them The Tousled Apostle and My Universe Is Still Coming Together have nominated me for the Versatile Blogger award. Not only am I flattered, I’m honored. I’ve been writing P&Q just over a year now and it’s really amazing to know someone not only reads it, but enjoys it. Thanks to all of you who’ve made P&Q what it is.

There are three simple rules to the Versatile Blogger Award. They are as follows:
1. Thank the person(s) who shared the award with you by linking back to them in your post.
2. Pass this award to 12 recently discovered blogs and let them know that you included them in your blog post.
3. List 7 things about yourself.

Okay, let’s get the kinda random stuff about me out in the open:

1. I once survived a 500-foot fall down a mountain without so much as a scratch on my body. Mom and Dad have called me “Rubber Girl” as a nickname ever since.

2. I have been in a movie as myself.

3. I am not afraid of spiders, snakes, or scorpions; however, the mere sight of cottage cheese is enough to make me run from a room.

4. Last summer I got to fly my uncle’s plane in San Diego, which was awesome.

5. The one person I’d like to interview for my blog is Dwight Schultz. If you don’t know who he is, he’s the original actor who played H.M. Murdock.

6. I have a constellation of birthmarks on my arm in the shape of Ursa Major (the Big Dipper.)

7. Ever since I can remember, I have always asked Santa for a horse for Christmas. So far he hasn’t come through.

Now for the exciting part…a dozen blogs I totally love. Some are new and some are old favorites. The one thing they all have in common is that I enjoy reading them for their insightfulness and originality. It was hard for me to pick just 12, but here they are in completely random order:

Brain Rants

This slice of un-PC hilarity is sick, twisted, and grotesque. In other words, just the way I like it. Head on over if you’re in the mood to laugh your frickin’ head off.

Baked In Pretoria

This terrific blog is a wonderful slice of life from South Africa (my current obsession), including recipes and cultural traditions. Baie lekker!

Live, Nerd, Repeat

So funny milk will come out of your nose. I adore blogs that have their own cartoons with them, especially the kind that are demented and imaginative.

Ellie Ann’s Blog

One of the most awesome things about the blogosphere has been getting to know awesome people like Ellie Ann. Check out her blog for some incredibly funny and witty pop culture and writing! (Oh, and she gets bonus points for loving Steampunk.)

The Happy Logophile

Jo is a published author whose blog is entertaining, thought-provoking, and always a delight to read. I always drop by for a bit of inspiration when I need it…which is often.

Thatawkwardkid93

I happened across this hidden gem just a short while ago; its author is a fellow Aspie with a real gift for words. Highly recommended for all Aspies and those who love them.

Real Life Monsters

This is a fascinating look into the world of the monsters among us: serial killers, rapists, and careeer criminals. If you’re a true crime junkie like me, it doesn’t get any better than this. The author is prolific and very thorough and I love this blog.

The Sleepless Blog

The author describes himself as a daydreamer…which I think is awesome. A British import, this is one of my go-to places for pop culture, music, movies and a whole lot more.

Immodium Abuser

One of my absolute favorite blogs…the author tells hilarious stories about everyday life with biting wit and realism. And how could you possibly go wrong with a blog name like that?

Geeks Shall Inherit The Earth

Matthew is truly one of the most gifted and thought-provoking writers I’ve encountered in the blogosphere. His posts, which are prolific and always entertaining, are an absolute must-read for me.

My Parents Are Crazier Than Yours

I wish the author would post more often, but I have to savor each little hilarious nugget as it comes. And yeah, it IS a relief knowing someone else is nuttier than my own crazy clan.

The Vintage Hockey Barn

Another recent find, this is an absolute must for the hockey junkie. If you’re new to the game, check out the Hockey Slang page. If you’re an old timer, you’ll find plenty to love here.

Thanks again to everybody who comments on a regular basis and who’s stopped by over the years! It’s been fun…but more importantly, it’s been educational!

 

Enjoyed this post? Don’t forget to click “Like” and subscribe to P&Q to stay in the loop! Also, we’ve got our Super Bowl contest going on now until Feb. 5! Check it out for a chance to win an awesome prize!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on January 12, 2012.

9 Responses to “P and Q Presents: A Dozen Blogs I Dig (And You Will Too)”

  1. It was my pleasure to nominate you, m’dear. I wish I could give you a greater prize like a golden toilet from the palatial estate of Saddam Hussein or the key to a major American city like Scranton. But alas and alack, the VBA is all I can offer you from my little hands. 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for the shout out. I appreciate your readership and support!

  3. Thanks so much! You made my night!

  4. oh AWESOME! Thanks so much for nominating me, and I subscribed to each and every one of your recommendations because they are just so cool!

  5. Thank you very much. I appreciate the kind things you said about my blog.

  6. Congratulations on winning this major award! woo woo woo!

  7. Thank you so much!

    Lisa

  8. Thank you for the shout-out, it’s appreciated and the feeling is mutual. Keep up the good work – Captain HM Murdock for the win!

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

