Should I Bare All?


Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. ~Mark Twain

No, not that kind of "baring all"

I’m sure I caught a few of my readers with a headline like that. No, I’m not talking about getting nekkid for an art class or for any other purpose, for that matter. I have far too much sensitivity (not to mention coldbloodedness) for a lark like that. It turns out it’s a different kind of “baring all.”

A couple days ago on Freshly Pressed, I came across this marvelous post about a husband and wife who’ve decided to shave their heads as part of the St. Baldrick’s Foundation for childhood cancer awareness. Occasionally I’ll be so moved by what I read that I want to help in some way deeper than just Paypalling a few dollars. This is one of those times.

I’ll be honest…I’ve always kind of wanted to buzz my hair. If you had crazy hair like mine, you’ll know what I mean. Of course, there’s that tricky little issue that women, in our culture, aren’t supposed to go bald. Which is why I’m still debating on losing the locks.

I'm not saying I'll look like this either

If you want to know what I’m most worried about, it’s not the cool breezes. It’s what others (read: conservative parents and workplace) might think of me. Of course…I stop to think about all the assumptions they make of me with hair, and it’s really not so bad. That I’m cold, or standoffish, or (heaven forbid) a lesbian. I’m not, but that’s not the point. I’m already a tall, strong woman with relatively short hair. The peanut gallery is gonna assume away. What’s a few less strands, really? It does grow back, after all. What have I got to lose? I’m sure if I explained it was for a good cause, they might be more sympathetic.

I have until March to decide, when a St. Baldrick’s event near me will take place. If I do go for broke on this one, I hope to set up a donation page here and on Facebook where anyone can donate to a worth cause. I personally don’t know any kids living with the Big C, but that doesn’t matter. All of them deserve a better life. And if I can help give them that with $100, $500, even $1000, I’m gonna do it. What’s hair anyway? Dead skin cells. Ew.

So, what do you, the readers, think? Should I go for it this year? If anyone has actually taken place in one of these events, or donated, I’d love to hear your story. I’m hoping to have my decision by the middle of this month. Stay tuned!

Check out our Tuesday Trivia Treasure Hunt for a chance to win some great prizes this week. Also, send me your predictions for the Super Bowl outcome before Feb. 5!

As always, if you enjoyed this post, be sure to click “Like” and subscribe to P&Q to stay in the insanity loop!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on January 25, 2012.

2 Responses to “Should I Bare All?”

  1. Thanks for the link-up! Of course I’m going to say do it, but I’ve already made my commitment. In my mind, if I have a public forum with which to raise even more awareness, why not try to do more by participating in a stunt like this in front of many eyes rather than by donating a few bucks?

    Although, I’ll tell you, even though being Freshly Pressed (awesome!) garnered an extra 24,000 views on that post (gah!), it didn’t bring in a significant amount of extra money. Some strangers did donate, though, so it was an improvement.

    Do what you feel works best for you. It’s great that you’re stepping up to help in any way you choose!

  2. Oh you totally should. I just saw a girl with a buzzed head and it was startling in a good way–I loved it, and she wore it like she meant it. If that makes any sense. You’re cool no matter what though.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

