5 Days I’d Like To Relive…Over and Over


This is one time where television really fails to capture the true excitement of a large squirrel predicting the weather.

~from “Groundhog Day”

Insert your own beaver joke here

Since there’s very little I can say this Groundhog Day that has to do with a)Bill Murray, as I just wrote about him, b)the non-existent winter weather across most of the United States, or c) large furry ground-dwelling rodents, I decided to go a different route.

The premise of the classic 1993 film, of course, is getting to re-live the same day on an endless loop. Phil Connors (Bill Murray) is forced to change his selfish ways in order to break the jinx of being stuck in Punxsutawney, PA. But what if the premise were less fantasy and more reality? What if, by some strange twist of fate, I was given a chance to have my own Groundhog Day and perform the Time Warp on shuffle? Let’s just assume that I’d be given the chance to pick said day and not, for example, be forced to relive the day I had to stand in line for 3 hours at the DMV, or the one that involved green vomit.

It is said that people remember not days, but moments. Nevertheless, these are some of the days I can remember most fondly. (And no, none of them involve bodily fluids.)

Indian Lakes, Nevada: Summer, 1984

It could have actually been 1983, or 1985. I don’t remember exactly. What I do remember is living out in the Great Basin desert and going camping in the remote BLM lands with my parents, searching for lost relics and fossils, getting to drive the family jeep(!), fishing for catfish, and learning to fly a trash bag on the end of a fishing pole. It was more than two decades ago but the happiness of those days is firmly remembered. I wouldn’t even have to pick a specific day since we had so much fun every time.

Near Darmstadt, Germany: Summer, 1996

This was a time of great transition in my life: the last full summer before I went to college, and also the last I spent with my then-boyfriend. It seemed the lazy summer days (longer at that latitude) would never end, and we often traversed the German countryside on bikes, on foot, and, in my case, on horseback. In close proximity to where we lived were such curiosities as the actual Frankenstein’s castle. How many teenagers can say they’ve had that experience?

Near Kassel, Germany: Winter 1997

 Picture yourself in the foothills of remote Germany. It’s 20 below (that’s Fahrenheit), a chill wind is howling down from the northwest, it’s snowing, and you’re sitting astride one of the original War Horses known to Julius Caesar in 60 BC. No, this isn’t a complete fantasy. I got to live it for a whole week at equestrian camp, though the weather was only that bad the one day. I had a warm bed and a roaring fire to go home to…those many ancient warriors who once stalked those lands did not. (Makes me all the more grateful for Polarfleece and instant Swiss Miss.)

Culver City, CA: Summer 2007

I’d be flat-out lying if I said I didn’t want to live my ill-fated appearance on Jeopardy over and over again, if for no other reason to make it not so ill-fated. Remember Bill Murray doing exactly the same thing in the old folks’ home (What are the Finger Lakes?) I couldn’t take it with me, but I’d have $100K or so for just that day.

San Diego, CA: Summer 2011

If I had to choose a time I was happiest, this day would make a very short list. Spending two hours in the air over sunny San Diego, in my uncle’s small plane, was a little piece of heaven. The best part? I might just get a chance to do it again this summer.

Bonus: The Future: The day I publish my first book

Don’t all of us writers dream of this day?

What day(s) would you want to live over and over again?

Happy Groundhog Day! Don’t forget to click “Like” if you enjoyed this post and subscribe to P&Q for those six more weeks of non-existent winter we’re supposed to have, all right?

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on February 2, 2012.

5 Responses to “5 Days I’d Like To Relive…Over and Over”

  1. I’d pick a day I was living in Norway, one with good weather and no commitments and where I felt well. Probably in the summer so I could swim and walk and drive off to visit places I wouldn’t have to worry about getting back from! Hang on, change that to being a day I had Norwegian lessons on, I could always skip them to skive sometimes, but by the time I’d escaped the loop, I’d be speaking Norwegian like a native! 😀 Fantastisk! (that’s Norwegian for fantastic ;))

    I love that film, this a question I have pondered before…

  2. I don’t know if I could narrow it to just one.

  3. Indeed these look awesome. San Diego looks great from the air, and Frankensteins castle – awesome! I was at Draculas castle in Romania last summer – also awesome! – I’m sure there’ll be more days yet to come that you will be able to add to this list!

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

