The Week That Was: Tax Day Edition


On Tax Day it is good to remember: No problem is so big or so complicated it can not be run away from.

~Charles Schulz

I bet you’re asking yourself one of two questions today: either “Where the hell is my tax refund?” or “Why the hell did I wait until the last minute to do my taxes?” No sane person likes income taxes, but they’re inevitable. I wish everyone who did  procrastinate wasn’t descending on my library branch right now like hungry locusts in search of the last few bits of grain.

Here’s an interesting pie chart regarding who pays what kind of taxes. (Wish I could opt out of Social Security.)

If you’re looking to get some wacky tax deductions, this feature might give you some tips. Don’t tell them I sent you, or that I claimed my invisible dog as a dependent last year.

For those who might not know, Sunday also marked the centennial of the Titanic disaster. Turns out a good many Twitter subscribers had no idea the Titanic was real and not James Cameron’s imagination. Somewhere, my facepalm will go on.

Which reminds me: back when I was dragged unsuspectingly by my roommates to the movie Titanic 15 years ago. All I seem to remember is learning not to drink 64 ounces of soda during a 3-hour flick, and how some guy got busted for wanking off in the back row. Which makes me think: how much more would that guy like the 3-D version with Kate Winslet’s nipples practically poking him in the face?

For those following the Stanley Cup playoffs, so far they’ve delivered…and it’s just the first round!  Check out this bad blood boiling over between the rival Philadelphia Flyers and Pittsburgh Penguins yesterday:

The funny thing is, the fans lapped it up. Of course, this is the same city that once famously booed Santa Claus. Talk about brotherly love.

Oh, and my hometown Predators are up 3-2 against the traditional powerhouse Red Wings. Hockey tonk, baby!

I’m still waiting for that promotional interview which hasn’t come. I suppose I could always apply to be one of The Master’s brides if it doesn’t work out this time.

T-minus one month until I head north to the Motor City Comic Con to see Dwight Schultz (aka Murdock, the site mascot and an awesome guy in real life). Which also reminds me: enter our Guilty Pleasures movie contest for a chance to win a cool prize autographed by Mr. Schultz. (You know you want to.)

Some of the best posts I came across this week included:

9 Reasons Why Solo Travel Is Great at Travelola. You know, travel isn’t just for couples anymore. Go check this post out if you are, like me, a single who enjoys getting out and going.

The Horror of London at Robotic Rhetoric. Speaking of travel, London is one of those places I only got to see on a whirlwind tour. This post made me laugh and also gave me second thoughts about wanting to go back one day.

“What is a lamp, you nincompoop…” at 1PointPerspective. A spin on both the ubiquitous Versatile Blogger Awards *and* the famous Leg Lamp? Hell yeah! I love it!

Details On Rowling’s New Book at Novel Journeys. All you fellow Harry Potter geeks and book nerds need to check this out. J.K. Rowling’s new book “for grownups.” Will it be a hit? We’ll see!

Chillin’ With Mom at BrainRants. I have yet to read a BR post that doesn’t make me convulse with laughter. This one is no exception.

Telltale Signs That You Need a Break at Susie Lindau’s Wild Ride. I just took a vacation, for crying out loud, and I still need a break. All amateur writers and bloggers will see a bit of themselves here.

So, it’s Preds-Wings tomorrow, and probably the demise of the Penguins. (Sidney Crosby, you sounded like a 16-year-old girl who got dumped by her prom date yesterday. Seriously.)

As for me, I paid my taxes a month early. If the tax man shows up at your place for an audit, neither the site mascot nor I had anything to do with it.

I love it when a tax return comes together!

What have you been up to this week, P&Q Rangers? Did you wait until the last minute to file your 1040? Pulling for (or against) any team in the Stanley Cup playoffs?

As always…if you enjoyed this post, click that “Like” button and subscribe so you’ll never miss another moment of insanity!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on April 16, 2012.

11 Responses to “The Week That Was: Tax Day Edition”

  1. Thank you so much for including me in your mash up! I will definitely go and check out the other blogs, as soon as I get back from my break…
    BTW I remember being warned about the length of Titanic and stopped drinking liquids at 9:00 in the morning!

  2. Ironic that I just finished some Kansas yardwork in my best Carl Spangler attire when I came in and saw this awesome shout-out. Thanks, Heather. You rock.

  3. For the record, the fans in Philadelphia didn’t boo Santa, they threw snowballs at him (OK it was iceballs).

  4. Quite a random mix of topics! – love it! Thanks for including my post on travelling solo. Glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

