Mondays With Murdock: All Mad, No Howling


Anger is a short madness. ~Horace

I'll get you, my pretty, and your invisible dog too

Anger is a strange thing. I’ll think I have the damn thing licked, then, months later, it’ll come back with a vengeance. In that way I suppose it’s like herpes. Not that I’d know anything about that.

Anyway, what am I saying, P&Q Rangers? It’s supposed to be a good week. It’s the unofficial beginning of summer, the Red Sox are back at around .500, and it’s time to announce the winner of our Guilty Pleasure Movies contest.

Can I get a drum roll, please?

Our winner, with a total of 10 votes out of 19 votes cast, is Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog as nominated by ThoughtsAppear. Congratulations! I’ll be in touch as to how you want to receive your prize, and I’ll also be featuring Dr. Horrible as a full review in an upcoming post. Sounds pretty Horrible to me.

As for the whole anger thing, well, I guess I saw it coming. Tomorrow marks the second anniversary of the Great Nashville FloodΒ of 2010. I lost my job, many of my friends, and a big chunk of self-esteem. On the other hand I wound up in the job I have now and discovered a new reservoir of strength.

I guess the majority of the anger comes from people who come to my workplace feeling a sense of entitlement. Guess what? You’re not special. You are not getting preferential treatment from me and you’re certainly not getting Julie Andrews. I have hundreds of people just like you to deal with every day and I have neither the time nor the energy to “be nice” to every one of them.

*Deep sigh*

*Another deep sigh*

*Wishing I had a punching bag at home*

*Wishing even more I had a full bottle of Red Stag at home*

*Wishes I had thought of this mashup of Angry Birds and The A-Team*

But enough with the righteous anger and the self pity. We’re starting another contest here at P&Q. Two of them, actually.

I want to hear about what makes you angry. It can be something on a global scale like injustice or war, something uniquely personal, or a pet peeve like mosquitoes. Just leave your anger-inducer in 140 characters or less in the comments and you’ll have a chance at a prize.

Our second prize? Well, for those of you who regularly read P&Q know, our site mascot’s name is H.M. “Howling Mad” Murdock. What does “H.M.” really stand for? The name I (or the site mascot) like best will also win a prize.

You’ve got until next Monday, May 7, to be as angry as you want. What are you waiting for? Rant, rave and berate away!

If you enjoyed this Jibba-Jabba, be sure to click that “Like” button so we don’t get REALLY mad, fool!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on April 30, 2012.

17 Responses to “Mondays With Murdock: All Mad, No Howling”

  1. he he

  2. Hurray for Dr. Horrible!

  3. I think the thing that most recently pissed me off were my ants, but armed with my trusty vinegar, cinnamon and a pest control guy, I seem to have them under control….Yeah!

  4. Hellza Momma? Happy Man? Hyperbolistic Meanderer?

    Glad you can vent out your anger here, if nowhere else.

  5. People who think not letting them oppress you is somehow oppressing them annoys the holy heck out of me. Also the words “I won’t vote third party because they can’t win.” That really bugs me. Thank you ever so for that pitiful, little, self-fulfilling prophecy sir or madam.

  6. Usually petty little things, which suggest a deeper rage, probably caused by having had arthritis all my adult life and being limited all the time. So then unnecessary limitations and annoyances bug me more. This morning once again it’s moving ads. I want an ad blocker that just blocks them but leaves the still ones be. I don’t know if one exists. Also slow internet. And my Mum is dying of cancer. So you’re not the only one with anger issues! Fortunately I have counselling in a couple of hours. I feel sorry for my counsellor. Sorry, that’s more than 140 chars, so I won’t win but I don’t care! Thanks for the chance to vent.

    HM surely stands for His/Her Majesty. It does here in GB anyway πŸ™‚

  7. I have my podcast and my music to vent out my anger. I’d send you some of the music, but I really doubt you would like it.

    • Hey, you can always try me. I crank up some Pantera when I’m in the right mood.

      • If you like Pantera you should check out Exhorder. Especially the song “Soul Search Me”, a very tight and intense song.

        I’ll shoot some tunes your way, I’ll give you one or two from each of the projects I have finished and see what you dig.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8γƒγƒΌγƒ‰γƒ«γŠγ¨γ“ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

