The Week That Was: I’ll Have Another!


I’ll stick with gin. Champagne is just ginger ale that knows somebody. ~Hawkeye, “M.A.S.H.”

It’s been another busy week, P&Q Rangers. And you know what that means…another exciting edition of The Week That Was!

As always, I have to give a shout out to the best posts of the week. Since this week marked the premiere of The Avengers, which I still haven’t seen (curse you, family moving day!), I did a little post called Blogging Avengers, Assemble! in which I invited fellow bloggers to share their Best Of.

Representing Iron Man/Tony Stark:

Who’s In Your Corner? by Susie Lindau. Everybody needs a person like this in their life, I agree!

Representing Captain America/Steve Rogers:

The Human Element by The Amateur Movie Expert. I love this post because it can be applied to just about any movie I dig.

Representing The Hulk/Dr. Bruce Banner:

The Soft Corridor by Hand of Ananke. Her posts are just so well-written. I wouldn’t want to make her angry.

If you’ve run across any good posts on The Avengers, or posts you consider Avengers-worthy, send them my way!

On the sports front, there was lots of wild and wacky events this week:

The colorfully named I’ll Have Another, whom I’d picked just based on his funny moniker, rallied down the stretch to win the 138th Kentucky Derby. Sadly, the day was marred by the discovery of a dead man whose passing is being ruled a homicide. That’s one guy who won’t be having another mint julep. Or anything else.

Speaking of the Derby, I always loved the funny hats. I’ve come to believe that the only people who can get away with wearing funny hats are horse racing attendees, Mardi Gras attendees, and the site mascot.

Who’d have seen those Baltimore Orioles coming in the AL East? And, in other news, the Red Sox are dwelling in the cellar. I’m going to break out my Major League DVD and remind myself it’s just May. Things change.

Following the tragic suicide of linebacker Junior Seau, it’s a possibility his brain will be studied to prevent the effects of concussions. I hope at least some good can come out of a horrible situation.

My Nashville Predators are down to their last chance in the Stanley Cup playoffs. I blame inexperience less than I blame stars Alexander Radulov and Andrei Kostitsyn, whose late-night antics breaking curfew led to a 2-game suspension. My pick to win it all: the red-hot L.A. Kings.

I wanted to thank everyone who reads P&Q on a regular basis: I’ve just reached 1,000 subscribers and 75,000 hits. I couldn’t have done it without you, the readers. And I also wanted to get some feedback from you, so, if you feel like it:

I’ve started watching back episodes of Psych. So far it’s a keeper: interesting characters, quirky plot twists, and Corbin Bernsen. Hmmm…now I really do have to see Major League again.

Next week should be even crazier, with the start of my new job/promotion and a trip up north to visit Dwight Schultz in person. If anybody has any questions they’d like to ask, send them my way!

So…what has everyone been up to as of late? Good news? I’d love to hear it!

As always if you enjoyed this post: click “Like” and subscribe to get your fix of insanity. Otherwise the site mascot might start singing “Wild Thing,” and he’s pretty drunk already.

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on May 6, 2012.

10 Responses to “The Week That Was: I’ll Have Another!”

  1. Thank you so much for the shout! I will check out the other links!
    I think you should follow your gut on your blog. I will come here no matter what!

  2. I like your list of fave bloggers. I’m trawling it as we speak. If you like them, they must be good!

  3. Delivered with all the flair and verve of Walter Cronkite.
    But with better hats.
    Off to check out the posts form them I don;t know of yet, and hope you have a great week, HMH!

  4. Thanks again for the shout-out! And the article turned out to be a blast. I’m definitely going to check for the ones I don’t know–you keep leading me to good places!

  5. I did go see the Avengers! not half bad..Congrats on your 1000 subscribers. Just as a matter of interest, how long did it take you?

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

