My Mom, the Superheroine


My mother never saw the irony in calling me a son-of-a-bitch. ~Jack Nicholson

This weekend is Mother’s Day, and although I send my mom flowers every single year (and, depending on her tastes, a box set of CSI or Blue Bloods), this year I felt like doing even more. She gets a blog post all her own. You’re welcome, Mom, even if you never read this.

My mom is turning 60 this year. I can’t believe that. She still works out religiously, keeps the house so clean and beautiful Martha Stewart would be jealous, and puts out gourmet meals that seriously kick ass. More importantly, though, she’s the kindest, most patient soul I know. That’s a quality I sorely lack. In a stressful situation I’m apt to unleash my inner Chuck Norris. My mom? She’s sitting there like a female Dalai Lama.

With all this partisan sniping in the news recently about whether stay-at-home moms really “work,” I have only one thing to say. Hell yes, they do. My mom is a gourmet chef, accountant, psychiatrist, negotiator, chauffeur, interior designer, travel planner, and intelligence agent. And that’s just dealing with my dad. I’ve been out on my own for a dozen years now and I know my mom is still glad to fill all those roles for me, too. (I am her only child, after all.)

I know most people think their mom is some sort of mythical figure, part domestic goddess, part ninja and part June Cleaver. My mom’s been indispensable to me for 30-plus years and I can’t imagine her not being a part of my life. Though we’re not related by blood, I feel as if I’ve inherited at least a few of her remarkably good qualities. (I only wish my household elan or cooking skills had been one of them.)

And of course, my mom has been open and empathetic when it comes to my AS diagnosis. Not every mom would. She just takes it in stride and accepts it as part of my quirkiness. (I’m sure she’s also considered it when it comes to my eccentric dad.)

Since I can’t give Mom a week-long cruise or a new Jaguar or pearl necklace, this will have to suffice. Mom, I love you and I’m so grateful for all you’ve done and continue to do for me. You’re my superheroine, and I bet you’d still rock one of those superhero costumes even at age 60.

I love you, Mom. You’re my hero.

Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers and grandmothers!

Don’t forget to click “Like” if you enjoyed this post, and subscribe to get your daily dose of insanity!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on May 8, 2012.

12 Responses to “My Mom, the Superheroine”

  1. This is such a great tribute Heather! I hope your mother reads it!

  2. Wonderful post! Your mom sounds like an incredible woman, thanks for introducing her to us.
    Have to agree with Susie – hope she does get to read this!

  3. Great post! A lovely mother tribute!

  4. Awww…..this is so sweet! I think you could print it out and give it to your mom if for some reason she doesn’t visit your blog.

  5. That was a great tribute!

  6. Heather, as a mom, I can promise you that your love and appreciation for all that she has done, and continues to do, is worth more to her than any week-long cruise or new Jaguar or pearl necklace. I hope you share this post with her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

