The Week That Was: Follow the Yellow Brick Road


Do not arouse the wrath of the great and powerful Oz. I said, come back tomorrow. ~from The Wizard of Oz

I can’t say I didn’t ask that question growing up. I always asked the weird questions. It’s been an interesting week for sure, a week of closure and of new beginnings.

For my readers who didn’t already know, today was my first day at my new job. It’s a lot like my old job, only there’s 20 times as many books and about 50 times more floor space. It should be only about six years before I start to memorize where things are. (I only got lost twice on the way to the restrooms.) It was a good start and I have confidence it will be a great fit for my background.

Posts I especially enjoyed this week:

Advice for Bella Swan at Ellie Ann’s Blog. Twilight may be becoming fairly passe, but don’t pass-e up this hilarious post. Ellie Ann strikes again with her wonderful wit.

I Fought the Frog, and the Frog Won at The Tousled Apostle. Think frogs are cute and cuddly Disney-esque creatures? Think again! Jamie shares her froggy-phobia and I think there’s a good reason for it. Those things are scary!

Best/Worst: Tim Burton Films Β at Filmophilia.Β With this week’s release of Dark Shadows, it’s the perfect time to take a look at everyone’s favorite Gothic director. Her choices may surprise you; her worst #2 is perhaps my #1 or #2. But that’s why it’s worth a look.

Medieval Wench for an EveningΒ at 2Summers. Who knew there were medieval-style banquets, complete with period costumes, in Jo’burg? I sure didn’t, and this post had me smiling from ear to ear.

Smart Enough to Join Mensa, Not Smart Enough to Join Mensa at The Good Greatsby. I’ve not officially joined for many of the reasons GG poses here. Funny stuff (and one of my favorite Far Side cartoons for good measure.)

The world of sports has not been kind to me as of late. The Red Sox continue to dwell in the cellar, and after the whole Josh Beckett situation, I’m not surprised. That’s a team with some serious leadership issues. (I say bring back Terry Francona, beer and fried chicken in the clubhouse.) Here in Nashville, the annual Iroquois Steeplechase was marred by the death of the champion, 8-year-old gelding Arcadius, who collapsed and died soon after winning. Oh, and the Artest Formerly Known as Ron is back from his NBA suspension. Makes me wish the Nashville Predators had made it through to the NHL conference finals so I’d have at least someone/something to root for this time of year.

This set of clips is so juvenile, so asinine, so immature…and yet I laughed my head off. Thank you very much, Jackass.

And this one isn’t bad either:

And before I engage in any more of Being a Horrible Human Being, consider these stories:

* Shaquille O’Neal is now *Doctor* Shaq after earning his doctorate from Barry University in Florida. I always liked him and now I have more reason to admire him.

* Pit bull Lilly saved her owner, Christine Spain, from an oncoming train in Shirley, MA. Whoever says all pit bulls (or any breed) are bad needs to reexamine their beliefs. There are no bad dogs; only bad owners.

* Remember the movie Run Fatboy Run? That guy has nothing on Briton Claire Lomas, who finished the London Marathon 26 days after it began. She was the first person to finish any marathon using a ReWalk bionic suit.

Oh, and less than one week until my trip up north to see Dwight Schultz in person. That’s the best news I’ve heard all week!

So, P&Q Rangers, what good news/bad news have you gotten this week? Any advice for starting out in a new job? I’d love to hear it!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on May 14, 2012.

11 Responses to “The Week That Was: Follow the Yellow Brick Road”

  1. I always wanted to know where that damn red road went as well. Even the books didn’t answer that question. Damn MGM!

    • The problem with The Wizard of Oz is, there are so many unanswered questions. (Like whatever caused that one Munchkin to hang himself in the background?) I’m guessing the Red Brick Road went to the Pink Floyd concert.

      • Maybe it was the blood trail of dead munchkins that the wicked witch’s sister had killed over the years staining the bricks permanently red and the hanging munchkin was the last victim she killed and left up as a warning to those who defied her.

  2. Glad to hear you like the new job! I hope it is a long and rewarding spot for you!
    All I know about sports is that my Mets are going to rise to great heights before imploding.

  3. Hey, there are some great tidbits in here! Especially that story about the medieval wench. Your posts are a great way for me to keep up on all the most interesting news back home.

  4. Congrats on the new job!

  5. Awesome mash-up!

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8γƒγƒΌγƒ‰γƒ«γŠγ¨γ“ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

