Mondays with Murdock: Early Epic Edition


There’s a good reason this post is quoteless. I’m literally at a loss for words as to how awesome the last 48 hours were, so I’ll try to keep it short. Beyond epic comes to mind, as does honored and privileged.

That handsome fella standing with these gals is none other than Mr. Dwight Schultz, aka H.M. Murdock of The A-Team. (That’s me to his immediate right…unfortunately I am that pale in real life.) He was kind enough to not only pose for a group photo with all of us, but offer us his time after hours. I cannot thank him enough for his graciousness. He’s a gentleman in every sense of the word.

But there’s more to it than that. I’ve been to a lot of conventions in my life, from California to Boston to Florida, and I have to say this one was very special. It wasn’t the cool cosplays or the life-size wandering Wookiee or the A-Team van replica which were all there (when I get more photos I’ll be sure to post them.) This one was magical because it was all about the special bonds created through a common interest. Of the ten of us who attended, I’d only ever met one…my good pal A.J…in person prior to this. At the end of the weekend I’d made new friends and exchanged emails. For somebody as shy as I am, much more Reg Barclay than Murdock, that’s a special treat. There was also my friend Susan’s family, my hosts, who went above and beyond in their hospitality. I can’t thank them enough either.

As A.J. put it, this weekend was about dreams coming true. So what if I have to go back to work in a couple days and might have to wait another year, if not longer, for another magical weekend like this one? These are wonderful memories I’ll keep with me not just for a weekend, but forever. The kinds that truly are priceless…sorry, MasterCard.

I’ll be sure to post a full report of my weekend, along with pictures, as soon as I get settled back in and finally get a good night’s sleep. Until then, P&Q Rangers, thanks for your readership and support.

I just love it when a plan comes together.

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on May 20, 2012.

8 Responses to “Mondays with Murdock: Early Epic Edition”

  1. YEEHAW!!!!
    Sounds like memories of this one will keep you occupied til the next.
    Rock on, Heather!

  2. oh my gosh you got to meet him!!! That’s so awesome, the con does sound like a dream come true.

  3. Very cool!

  4. Cool πŸ™‚

  5. I can’t wait to hear what he said about prefacing your book! Awesome photo!

  6. I can’t wait to hear more about it and see the pics!

  7. Tres awesome Heather! Like everyone else I cannot wait to see the pics. It had to be really cool to meet the man himself.

  8. B.A. will be so angry to hear how excited you were to meet Murdock.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8γƒγƒΌγƒ‰γƒ«γŠγ¨γ“ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

