The Week That Was: P&Q’s Summer Vacation


Why aren’t we flying? Because getting there is half the fun. You know that. ~from “National Lampoon’s Vacation”

Ah, Memorial Day weekend….the unofficial start of summer in the Northern Hemisphere. And it’s not just about beer, beaches and baseball (more on that below.) It’s a time for reflection on the sacrifices made by members of the armed forces in defense of freedom. But before I get too philosophical here, there’s some news I want to share with my readers.

As of this week, I’m putting Prawn and Quartered on semi-hiatus so I can finish my book manuscript. I’ve done a lot of thinking about this, and, while I truly enjoy blogging and the interactions with fellow bloggers, my book means a lot to me and I want to get it done. Per the suggestion of my good friend Lisa C., I will be writing approximately once every other week to check in and update my progress.

So no, I’m not quitting my blog. I’m only re-prioritizing. Having spent a couple magical hours with Dwight Schultz and a group of fellow fans this past weekend, I realize that finishing my book is the thing I want most right now. I hope everyone will understand.

That being said, I still have a week to review! What’s been happening? Lemme tell ya:

Posts that rocked this week:

How Would You Spend Your Fantasy Fortune? at Go Guilty Pleasures! A perennially popular hypothetical question. And it’s a fun one to answer.

One of the Many at Author Piper Bayard. This Memorial Day weekend there are a lot of tribute posts. This was the one that moved me the most, and made me remember my WWII veteran grandfathers.

This Is So Hideous! at Susie Lindau’s Wild Ride. All of us are sick of “epic” and “viral” being overused. Susie makes a great case for a new buzzword on the block!

Why I Am No Longer Preparing for the ApocalypseΒ at Live, Nerd, Repeat. One of my favorite blogs, and it’s good to see him back. If you haven’t seen his hilarious cartoons, go treat yourself.

Top Ten: Post-Apocalyptic Movies at Filmophilia. Probably my favorite movie subgenre…and Filmophilia makes some daring picks. Their number one is a surprise for sure, but it’s one of my all-time faves.

When Dessert Attacks at ThoughtsAppear. You thought the trailer for Prometheus looked scary? Check this “Stuff” out!

What’s been happening in the world of sports:

* I really don’t watch the NBA playoffs so much, but even I find the Heat-Celtics matchup intriguing. In terms of basketball, this remains my all-time favorite moment…

* Ashley Judd’s husband, Dario Franchitti, won his 3rd Indy 500. Something about this race compels me to watch it every year, much the same way as I watch the Masters despite a relative lack of interest in golf. Also, I see they’re still playing those idiotic GoDaddy commercials. 40 years of feminism goes “boink.”

* My beloved Red Sox can’t even break .500. It could be worse: they could be the Padres.

* The Stanley Cup finals are set with the New Jersey Devils taking on the L.A. Kings. I’m sure the league would have preferred the Rangers, but this should be a great matchup. Then it’s no hockey until October…which makes me sad. Oh: Devils in 7.

* Triple Crown contender I’ll Have Another’s trainer, Doug O’Neill, has been suspended for allegedly drugging horses. There’s a reason no horse has won the Crown since 1978, and I don’t see I’lll Have Another winning at Belmont (give me the late-charging Dullahan if he runs.)

It’s been much warmer than average here in the U.S. and it sure feels like summer, though the solstice isn’t for another three weeks. There is even a tropical storm, Beryl, churning off the southeast coast. In my opinion the jury is still out on global warming, but I have to wonder about it this year.

My good friend A.J. received her official license this week to replicate Murdock A-2 jackets. Want one for you or a buddy? Just contact her…she’s the best!

I also received a bit of bittersweet news this weekend: my maternal grandmother has been diagnosed with squamous cancer. I’m not sure how much longer she will be with us, but I will treasure every bit of that time.

Since it is Memorial Day this weekend in the U.S., I’d also like to offer my heartfelt salute to all veterans, past and present. I honor all of you and thank you for the sacrifices you and your families have made so that this country might be free. We will never forget you and the many who have given their lives in the line of duty.

From Carl Sandburg’s poem “Grass”:

Pile the bodies high at Austerlitz and Waterloo.
Shovel them under and let me work–
I am the grass; I cover all.

And pile them high at Gettysburg
And pile them high at Ypres and Verdun.
Shovel them under and let me work.
Two years, ten years, and passengers ask the conductor:
What place is this?
Where are we now?

I am the grass.
Let me work.

Thank you, veterans…you will not be forgotten.

I’m not often in the business of mentioning this sort of thing, but if you’d like to give back, pleaseΒ  consider the Wounded Warrior Project. Their cause is a great one.

What are your Memorial Day/summer vacation plans?

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on May 27, 2012.

19 Responses to “The Week That Was: P&Q’s Summer Vacation”

  1. Wow! Thank you so much for the shout out! You are so hideous Heather~ heehee!
    We will miss you over the summer. I am glad that you will be checking in!
    “I just said the same thing to my husband. I wish my blog brought in some money! I need to finish my book!” We’ll see if I can use my time wisely this summer.
    This is an important weekend. My heart goes out to all the veterans and those that have lost loved ones. We have been dashing to graduation parties…

    P.S. MR. T is wearing a onsie!
    Thanks again Heather!

  2. “We found out that you never played in college and you never played in high school.” – “Pfhsst. So?”

    This scene must be among my top 5 Bill Murray moments ever.

  3. Good luck with the manuscript. I’ll miss you! But I totally understand. I’ve been trying to work on a book and am finding it nearly impossible.

  4. Good luck with your novel and have a great summer. When I decided last summer that I was going to finish my book, I found the blog writing a good diversion and warm-up, got the writing juices flowing. You never know- you might want to post now and then- or at least give us short updates on how you’re doing! We’re happy to give you moral support!
    My book btw is available via my website: lisakwinkler.com

  5. Thank you so much for the shout-out, Heather! I think it’s AWESOME that you’re taking a hiatus to work on your novel; I know you’ll rock the heck outta that thang! And you have plenty of people eagerly waiting to read πŸ™‚

  6. Gave you a little shout out in my overly wordy, weird post. Hope you’re not offended. Good luck on the book, looking forward to buying a copy!

  7. Thanks for the link! I’m glad you liked the post!

  8. Hey girl, I nominated you for an Illuminating Blogger Award! Go here for more info…

    http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award

  9. Have fun writing the book, and we’ll be here when you get back!

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8γƒγƒΌγƒ‰γƒ«γŠγ¨γ“ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

