6 Kinda Cool Things About Sick Days


The most poetical thing in the world is not being sick. ~G.K. Chesterton

I’m sick, P&Q Rangers. Usually I enjoy sick days about as much as I enjoy reality shows and overcooked spinach, which is to say, not at all. However, just for today I’m sticking to the bright side of things. Turns out there’s actually an optimistic angle to violently emptying the contents of my stomach (and it’s not just losing a few pounds.)

Consider, if you’ve ever been sick:

#1. You get to watch shows you normally don’t watch, like The Price Is Right.

I’m not sure about you, but nothing gets me on the road to recovery quite like learning the prices of foot massagers and watching the little Alpine climber guy go plunging into a frozen abyss.

#2. Sick days provide extra time to get caught up on reading.

And if you have a stack of 10-12 books that desperately need reading, this is never a bad thing.

#3. Taking a day to treat your body right.

Anybody who works long days and endures commutes isn’t used to eating hot soup and fresh fruit for lunch. Throw in an epsom bath, a well-needed nap and hot tea for good measure.

#4. Household chores get done.

Between work and laundry, mopping, dusting, and dishes, I’d normally take work. However, the house won’t clean itself and there’s only so many daytime shows I can watch without getting bored.

#5. I have time to stop and think about the good things in my life.

To wit: I am healthy overall, I don’t have much but have what I need, and my last name isn’t “Kardashian,” “Bieber,” or “Lohan.”

#6. It’s an extra day off from work, for better or worse.

To paraphrase Ed Rooney from Ferris Bueller, between barfing and nothingness, I’ll take barfing.

What do you like or dislike about sick days? Any tips to help it go by safely and sanely?

Coming soon: the finals of the P&Q Hunger Games! Don’t miss it!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on September 25, 2012.

4 Responses to “6 Kinda Cool Things About Sick Days”

  1. Feel better! When I taught I tried to use my allotted sick days as “mental health” days to do something I wouldn’t normally be able to do on a work day.

  2. I do hope you’re feeling better soon.There is nothing worse in this world than a stomach virus.

  3. Feel better Heather and take it easy!

  4. Feel better.

    My favorite thing to do is either read or watch some movies or shows. I tried writing music on sick-days, but they never come out the way I want them or I end up strumming for about forty minutes and then shut everything down and go watch something.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

