Grateful, Not Dead


Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all others. ~Cicero

All joking aside, this is the week to give thanks and appreciate all that I have. (Later this week I’m dedicating a special post to my fellow bloggers and the gratitude I feel for their talent and their continued readership.)

In no particular order:

I am grateful to live in a nation where, as a woman, I am a valued and honored part of my society and given equal rights and opportunities.

I am grateful for literacy and the freedom to read what I like. (Working at the library, doubly so.)

I am grateful for the continued service and sacrifices made by our armed forces and their families so that we can be safe and secure at home.

I am grateful for the beauty of nature and the best state park system in the United States, which I can enjoy free of charge all year long.

I am grateful for the right to vote, and to peacefully petition my elected representatives, even if they don’t always reflect my beliefs.

I am grateful for my many friends scattered around the world, both those I have met in person and those whom I’ve only met in cyberspace. I couldn’t ask for a greater group than you.

I am grateful for a roof over my head, a car that runs, and a job. In these hard times so many do not have even one of those things.

I am grateful for my desire to write. Maybe I haven’t written a book yet, but I know I will one day.

I am grateful for relatively good health.

I am grateful for my ever-expanding knowledge of the autism world, and for the many wonderful organizations that have helped me in my quest.

What are you most thankful for? Why?

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on November 19, 2012.

7 Responses to “Grateful, Not Dead”

  1. I am thankful for a real perspective shift that has allowed me to begin being truly thankful again. And for great blogs to read!

  2. I am grateful for my family, my friends, and for the opportunity to work to make the world a kinder, saner, safer place.

  3. Great post!!
    I think we should be thankful everyday!
    Maybe on a smaller scale, without devouring the beheaded fowl, we should be expressing our gratitude for even our smallest, more simple gifts on a daily basis.
    So often, we take for granted our most precious blessings. Writing down a few things I am grateful for each day helps me keep life in perspective. We have so much to be thankful for. For example, this morning aspirin & coffee made the top of my list. : )
    It’s always great to see other people appreciate and acknowledge the importance of having and showing gratitude.
    Have a Happy Thanksgiving!!

  4. I am grateful that I will be going back to school and will hopefully lead to actual career instead of just a job.

  5. I am grateful to have met you Heather! Happy Thanksgiving to you!

  6. Amen.
    And I’m thankful to remember that it’s the little things like this that are more important than the supposed big things.

    Happy Thanksgiving, Heather!

  7. Hi fellow blogger! I have nominated you for Blog Of The Year 2012. Congratulations! Please see my post for the rules.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

