The 12 Guilty Pleasures of Christmas: Part 1


The best way to spread Christmas Cheer, is singing loud for all to hear. ~from “Elf”

elf-will-ferrell-ss

Because Christmas is still a few weeks away, and I’m still waiting for Murdock Claus to finish his Virtual Christmas shopping, I decided…hey, what’s another project a few weeks out? I’m feeling generous and there’s pop culture involved. I have all the time in the world for that.

Here’s the twist to keep it interesting: everyone who comments on this series between now and Christmas will be randomly entered to win some cool stuff from me. I promise it’ll be good and I also promise it won’t be regifted. For each comment, you’ll get one entry.

We all know the famous 12 Days of Christmas song. For us geeks, however, the gifts are pretty much impractical (I mean, three French hens? I don’t even have a chicken coop!) So, in true P&Q style, I’ve taken the basic idea and spun it on its side. Because, you know, I’m just like that. These are the 12 Guilty Pleasures of Christmas. The stuff I’m almost ashamed to admit I like. Maybe you do too? Take a look:

Guilty Pleasure #12: The annual TBS marathon of A Christmas Story

Old-Man-Admiring-Major-Award

Some people despise this film (I pity them.) They’d rather watch It’s a Wonderful Life or A Christmas Carol or even Home Alone. I can’t get enough of Ralphie and the Old Man and that crazy leg lamp. I know the whole thing by heart, including the narration. It doesn’t matter. I need 24 hours of nostalgia as surely as I need mint M&Ms and candy canes on Christmas. The nicest thing about this annual marathon is that, like the Detroit Lions on Thanksgiving, it’s just something you can have on in the background. And it’s just as predictable.

Guilty Pleasure #11: Fruitcakes

funny_fruitcake

Everybody always jokes about gifting and re-gifting fruitcakes. They are the zombie version of Christmas gifts: they just won’t die and are pretty much indestructible. I’m in the minority who actually like the fruity delights. Try this recipe if you don’t believe me that fruitcakes can’t be delicious. I like men like I like fruitcakes: nutty and full of rum.

Guilty Pleasure #10: 24/7 Christmas Music

winteriscoming

Calvin (of Calvin and Hobbes fame) once quipped that if a novelty Christmas song is funny the first time, it’s funny every time. I’ll agree here; I can actually listen to “The Chipmunk Christmas Song” and “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas” and still laugh just as hard as I did when I was 7. This guilty pleasure is surprising considering I used to work retail and was subjected to Michael Buble’s Christmas album on auto-repeat all day. I love the Christmas radio stations that play 24/7 carols so I can tune in and get into the holiday spirit, especially while writing cards. (The two exceptions to this are “The Christmas Shoes” and that god-awful Paul McCartney synth number.)

So, my readers, what are some of your guiltiest Christmas pleasures? Leave a comment for a chance to win a prize (or two!)

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on December 6, 2012.

6 Responses to “The 12 Guilty Pleasures of Christmas: Part 1”

  1. I love watching A Christmas Story, but I usually host my own marathon of Christmas movies at the beginning of December, starting out with Wizard of Oz and finishing with Tokyo Godfathers.

  2. I won’t say I’m a huge fan of A Christmas Story, but I don’t hate it and watch it if it’s on. I will say to cheesy Christmas songs, Dominick the Donkey is something I had never heard until I moved to the East Coast of the US and it drives me nuts. More so when the local radio plays it once an hour or more all season long.

  3. One of my guilty pleasures is Chocolate Bundt Cake. I sliver it every time I am in the kitchen. (I work on the countertop) and can’t believe how fast it disappears!

  4. […] time for the second part of Christmas Guilty Pleasures. (If you missed Part I, here it is.) Chip in on the subject and you, too, could win a fabulous prize worth about $20. We all have some […]

  5. […] just over a week away from the big day, and all my gifts have been bought. If you missed Part 1 and Part 2, be sure to catch up! Don’t forget that a random commenter on this series will […]

  6. […] the holiday, and the conclusion to our Guilty Pleasures series (see parts 1, 2 and 3 if you missed […]

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

