The 12 Guilty Pleasures of Christmas, Part 2


What better way to celebrate a religious holiday than with a month of frenzied consumerism?

~from “Calvin and Hobbes”

calvin_hobbes_christmas_0

We’re right at 2 weeks from Christmas. I can feel an end in sight (though this isn’t the Mayan apocalypse). All my Christmas shopping is done. All my cards and gifts have been sent to their many destinations. However, I still have to engage in my annual guilty pleasures for Christmastime. No, I’m not talking about letting my relatives get into the wine again.

It’s time for the second part of Christmas Guilty Pleasures. (If you missed Part I, here it is.) Chip in on the subject and you, too, could win a fabulous prize worth about $20. We all have some guilty pleasures and I want to hear yours. There’s also still time to send your virtual letter to Santa Claus and be added to the P&Q Nice List for a virtual gift.

So, on Dasher, on Dancer, on Bambi and John and whatever the lot of your names are…

Guilty Pleasure #9: Christmas TV specials

charlie-brown-christmas5

By now I practically know A Charlie Brown Christmas, How the Grinch Stole Christmas, and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer by heart. Though I could watch them on DVD any time I choose, by now it’s a ritual to watch them on TV each Christmas as they were intended to be seen. They’re even more enjoyable when accompanied by homemade cookies, even the delightfully misanthropic Blackadder’s Christmas CarolHumbug!

Guilty Pleasure #8: Ugly Sweaters

sweaters

When I recently watched the charming Arthur Christmas, I knew I’d end up liking its title character because he was a big fan of Ugly Christmas sweaters. You know the ones: they’re lumpy, cumbersome, feature big snowflakes or leaping reindeer, and smell like closets. You wouldn’t dare wear one at any other time of year, but at Christmas they’re a must. I always secretly wished I had a relative who made these sweaters. Like Mrs. Weasley.

Guilty Pleasure #7: Letters to Santa

santa claus reading a letter

Call me silly, but I’ve been doing these since I was a kid. (In case you’re wondering, none of them ever got returned.) Some years I’ve asked for practical things, other years I’ve gone all out and done lists that would put Calvin to shame. A few times I’ve even asked Santa for something more abstract, like to bring my dad home the year he was serving abroad. And while some years I haven’t gotten exactly what I wanted (I’m still waiting on that pony), Santa has never failed to deliver.

Don’t forget to share your favorite Christmas Guilty Pleasures. For each comment you get one chance to win a prize or two…

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on December 10, 2012.

6 Responses to “The 12 Guilty Pleasures of Christmas, Part 2”

  1. Some may consider it cliché, but I love “It’s a Wonderful Life.” One year I watched all or part of it nine times. Actually, it is one of my two favorite movies in or out of the Christmas season–so much so that I even own a Bedford Falls village. Call it my guilty pleasure. 😉

  2. Did I already mention cake? Another is watching Elf! Love that movie!

  3. Moviewise it is the same films around the holidays; Wizard of Oz, How The Grinch Stole Christmas, Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer, A Christmas Story, The Ref, and Tokyo Godfathers.

    The television specials I put on are two holiday specials of Vicar of Dibley, “Christmas With The Joker” from Batman: The Animated Series, the entire Tin Man mini-series, an OVA episode of Ranma 1/2, and whatever Christmas episodes of shows I like.

  4. I love IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE, too. I cannot even tell you how many times I’ve seen it….I can quote large parts of it (if not all of it) from memory. “Why do we have to have all these kids, anyway?” Love it!

  5. […] just over a week away from the big day, and all my gifts have been bought. If you missed Part 1 and Part 2, be sure to catch up! Don’t forget that a random commenter on this series will earn […]

  6. […] the holiday, and the conclusion to our Guilty Pleasures series (see parts 1, 2 and 3 if you missed […]

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

