A Few Parting Thoughts from 2012


New Year’s Day… now is the accepted time to make your regular annual good resolutions. Next week you can begin paving hell with them as usual.

– Mark Twain

murdock_family_reunion_press_still__donated_by_heather__resize

* I must be the only person in America who still hasn’t seen/heard “Gangnam Style” and really has no desire to. Ditto for “Call Me Maybe.” (I only knew what they were after my preteen cousin told me.)

* It’s my sincere hope that Americans can put away their political differences and actually work together in 2013. There are a lot of serious problems facing our world and they will take serious solutions.

* The DSM-V changes for the diagnosis of autism may prove to be a huge help or a huge step backwards for those on the spectrum and their families. It’s too early to tell, but I’m against the changes.

* As this blogger so eloquently explains, the fact that the Sandy Hook killer may or may not have been on the autism spectrum is really ignoring a larger truth. The vast majority of us are gentle and abhor violence. Making such a link between autism and mass violence is perhaps as logical as, say, left-handedness or red hair.

* Reading is the greatest gift children can get, both for their present and as an indicator of success later in life. I don’t say this just because I work in a library and I see the tragic results of poor or nonexistent literacy on a daily basis. Here’s a great place to make a difference.

* There was a presidential election this year in the United States, and I didn’t vote for either major candidate. I’m OK with that because I believe there needs to be a choice between just two monolithic parties, and I also believe more might get done if different voices were heard on a more regular basis.

* Not that I really believe in a traditional fire-and-brimstone hell, but if I did, people like the Westboro Baptist Church would deserve to go there.

* There are good news stories out there in this world of murders, rapes, and robberies. They are always worth reading.

* The NHL can kiss my posterior over the current lockout. There is absolutely no excuse why a bunch of millionaires can’t make a deal with other millionaires in the climate of the Great Recession. Trust us fans: we’ll find other ways to spend our ever-decreasing number of entertainment dollars.

* It’s about time Norv Turner got fired. The man had insane job security for too long.

* 2012 saw, as every year, a number of famous people passing on. Among those who inspired me directly (or indirectly): Neil Armstrong, Junior Seau, Sally Ride, Maurice Sendak, Johnny Pesky, Andy Griffith, Ray Bradbury, Andrew Breitbart, and Coach Joe Paterno. Rest in peace, one and all.

* It’ll be 7 and 6 years, respectively, since my grandfathers passed on. I still miss them and wish there were things I could ask them. Both my grandmothers are still living and I’m so glad they are.

* May 2012 was a special event for me as I once again had the pleasure of attending a convention where Dwight “Murdock” Schultz was a guest. He is a gentleman, a genuine talent, and altogether kind.

* Love your family. You never know which day may be their last…or yours. Make every moment count.

* Inside the hard, outer, misanthropic shell of mine beats the heart of an idealist. It’s in there, trust me.

* Rudy still makes me cry every single time I see it. Yes, it’s Hollywood, but it’s also a story of perseverance and never letting others tell you what you can do (or can’t do.)

* I still have faith that despite all the terrible things that have happened this year, there is still hope. There is always hope.

May 2013 be blessed, prosperous, and safe for you, my readers. Happy New Year!

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on December 31, 2012.

4 Responses to “A Few Parting Thoughts from 2012”

  1. You have a much more pleasant punishment than I would for the retarded attention whore horde protesting dead soldiers, rockstars, and anything else inbetween.

    Outside of that; I hope you have a great new year and hope to see/read your posts when you release them.

  2. I haven’t seen “Gangnam Style” and am not even really sure what it is, except I think it is some kind of dance video. From the name, it sounds like it is from Viet Nam perhaps? I’ve never heard of “Call Me Maybe.”

  3. I just realized that someone on another website had referred to “Call Me Maybe” but I didn’t even realize I had heard of it….I guess the reference had just passed me by…..

  4. Thank you for the link to my post (and the kind description of it). Of all the things on your list to which I can relate (and there are quite a few!), I also lost my grandfather 7 years ago and barely a day passes when I don’t long for his counsel.

    Looking forward to enjoying your blog. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8ハードルおとこ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

