The Big Announcement Is…A Book!


You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you. ~Ray Bradbury

abnormal

I’ve kept you guys, my faithful readers, waiting long enough. After a much-needed trip away from home, I’m refreshed, rejuvenated, and ready to go. I’ve already started my new job and gotten the new year off to a good start. Now it’s time for phase 2 of Operation 2013, which so happens to be…

…a book. A real one.

I wish I were kidding you guys. I’ve spent my entire life wanting to write a book, rationalizing why I could or couldn’t, aborting NaNoWriMos right and left. And I’ve come to a conclusion: the damn book won’t write itself. Nobody can get it done but me, which is what I plan to do.

The plan is simple. I’ll be writing the book live, without any editing or revision, live. Think of it as the Whose Line Is It Anyway?Β of books. This is strictly stream-of-consciousness, play it as it lies, warts-and-all stuff here. I can get it edited later.

“What is this book about?” you ask, and I’m glad you did. Its tentative title is Six Months to Life, for two reasons: my goal is to have a working manuscript done by my birthday in June (hence, six months) and also for the life-changing six months I experienced in 2010 following the devastating Nashville flood. I plan on telling the stories of my life in a (hopefully) fun and witty way as I randomly remember them. Again, this is strictly winging it…as it turns out there’s been a lot of that in my life. Don’t expect perfection or even chronological order. This is an Aspie’s biography we’re talking about.

So, yep, that’s it. I have no idea if and when this book will be published (at this point I don’t have an agent, a publisher, or even a clue) but that’s not the idea. This is an adventure and a true leap of faith for me. I’ll trust you, my readers, to be candid and open in any feedback you give. And yes, I will take every bit of it as advice, good or bad. I want your opinions; after all, you guys are the real reason I enjoy writing so much. I’ll also take suggestions for a better title if you can think of one (My Howling Mad Life, anyone?)

For the next five months and change P&Q time and space will be devoted almost entirely to this project. I am grateful in advance to everyone for understanding and for taking part, even in a small way, in this great adventure with me. I’m going to write a book…finally…and it couldn’t have happened without your ongoing support.

Look for the first chapter(s) soon with updates at least once a week!

All the best,

“Howling Mad” Heather

book_of_art_4

I’d love to hear from any published authors or self-published writers as I embark on this journey. Any tips you’d like to share? Advice to give?

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on January 16, 2013.

4 Responses to “The Big Announcement Is…A Book!”

  1. Awesome goal! I look forward to hearing more about your book πŸ˜€ Good luck with it!

  2. Yay for book writing! My big goal this year is to actually finish a novel. I have lots of beginnings and even a few nano wins, but I’ve never finished one yet. I’m not going to be writing it online like you, but I do intend to revive the old blog and post updates on my progress. I look forward to your first chapter! πŸ™‚

  3. Very cool project and goal! Good luck to you in the next six months!

  4. Woo-hoo! Good for you! I can never finish anything that I start.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8γƒγƒΌγƒ‰γƒ«γŠγ¨γ“ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

