12 Good Reasons I Haven’t Been Writing, and 1 Kinda Lame One


You know, there are places in this world where fools are worshiped? Like Hollywood, California? ~H.M. Murdock

skeptical

It’s April Fools’ Day, P&Q Rangers. It’s as good a day as any to break the site mascot out of his carbonite freeze and start writing again. How long has it been, anyway? Two months or so? This place has cobwebs, there were about 12 comments still pending, and no less than 4,278 unsolicited ads for products to enhance my sex life. I have been away, haven’t I?

Instead of continuing my ill-fated autobiography, I felt I needed to apologize to my readers today without any fooling or joking. The only way to get writing done is to, well, sit down and write,Β which I haven’t done in too long. I’ve pretty much decided to take P&Q back to its normal format of randomness, not to mention semi-regular updates. Which, I gotta admit, worked just fine since its inception.

So, why haven’t I been writing?

#1. I’m convinced everything I write, to one degree or another, completely sucks.

Yeah, I know every writer thinks this. I do too, and I know it’s false. (This is the kinda lame excuse I just now mentioned.)

#2. The weather has played me like a cheap piano this year.

You’ve heard about Seasonal Affective Disorder, right? I seem to have a bad case of it.

#3. I don’t feel as if I have an incentive.

I’m all about competition. In fact, I sometimes do workshops just so I can “compete” in a friendly way with other writers.

#4. Work has left me more exhausted than usual.

With a shorthanded staff and never enough time to do anything, writing goes on the back burner.

#5. I’ve been trying to get back into decent shape.

Not that I wasn’t before…but this is serious, as in, walk a half-marathon serious. It takes lots of time.

noone

#6. I’ve actually been trying to learn something new.

Well, it’s not technically new…I took piano lessons as a child and have decided to take it up again. Playing Led Zeppelin on the piano sure beats plinking out “Three Blind Mice” and “Oh, Susannah.”

#7. I haven’t had much to say.

Really and truly. Writing is cyclic for me. It’s like sunspots, or highwater pants as a fashion statement.

#8. My pet-sitting cottage industry is doing well.

If you are the type of person who can write an intelligent 500-1000 words while being surrounded by all manner of four-legged creatures, you and I need to talk so I can learn your secret(s).

#9. The D-word.

Yes, I have battled depression most of my life. Not the really terrible kind, but the kind that’s the emotional equivalent of a mosquito bite. It’s not going to do me in, but dammit if it isn’t annoying.

#10. And the A-word.

This one (anger) hasn’t reared its ugly head quite as much now that my work keeps me away from the public. But, since I still have to work a desk on weekends, it’s still sticking around like a stubborn, drunk party guest who won’t go home.

customer

#11. ADD…I think?

Because who really cares about writing when there’s Facebook and Angry Birds and People of Wal-Mart and OHWOWTHEREGOESASQUIRREL!

#12. A colossal feeling of inferiority.

This is the hardest thing to admit, but when I see so many other wonderful blogs out there with their talented and cool authors, I feel like a very small fish in a very big pond. (Yes, I know it’s irrational. Yes, I’m enormously grateful for all my readers who choose to spend even a minute or two out of their day here. Thank you.)

#13. Reading.

I work in a library. I like to read. There are never enough hours in the day to read all the books I’d like to. Oh, and Game of Thrones just started its third season, which sorta counts as reading because it’s based upon a series of books.

abnormal

What about you? Are you writing more or less than you’d like? By the way, in honor of April Fools’ Day, the site mascot has promised to give a free rubber chicken to everyone who stops by today.

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on April 1, 2013.

24 Responses to “12 Good Reasons I Haven’t Been Writing, and 1 Kinda Lame One”

  1. I know exactly how you feel with quite a few of these. There’s never enough time in the day, and I too think there’s always someone who can say it better than I can. I will tell you, however, that you are a talented writer. A damned funny one to boot, and it’s great to see you around again, ma’am! πŸ˜€

  2. Welcome back.

    In the highly unlikely event that I am one of the bloggers to whom you refer, I command you to get serious! If I’m not one of those uber-talented bloggers, then I understand completely about feeling inferior, I do too. Why I keep writing is beyond me.

    You need to write when you need to write, and skip writing when you need to skip it, and we need to read what you write, unless you’d rather we didn’t. Don’t overthink it, just do what you need to.

    For what it’s worth, I’ve missed reading you.

  3. Welcome back! I hope everything is going well. I can understand a lot of where you are, I am going through the same things along with the whole Mommy of 3 Kids thing too. Writing has to take a back burner sometimes.

    Yay, rubber chicken from Murdock!! πŸ™‚

  4. Yay, a blog from you! You know that I believe in you and your writing. Have you ever read *Writing Down the Bones* by Natalie Goldberg? I love this book on writing! It consists of three-to-five-page, fun-to-read vignettes that end with short writing exercises.

  5. YAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYY!

    I definitely missed you!

  6. I am convinced everything I write is absolute drivel. I go off on tangents that make no real sense, and by the time I have finished I am talking about something completely different to what I started with, and then I’m left a bit dazed. To compensate, I write lots, multiple times a day, like a Labrador jumping up and down, shouting “love me love me love meeee.”

  7. I hope you’re feeling better. Depression sucks *hugs* I just wanted to let you know, even though you feel inferior compared to others, I feel inferior compared to you lol! I think you’re witty and funny, and your blog always teaches me something. Welcome back!

  8. Reblogged this on omreddy.

  9. Welcome back! The sun will soon shine. In the meantime, take a vitamin D under the tongue and eat a hamburger. Sit in the sun for 15 minutes when it does come out… Glad to “see” you!

  10. Everything will sort itself out I’m sure

  11. Welcome Back! I like to think my phone call to find out if you were alive had something to do with it, but even if not…..it’s good to see you back on the blog.

  12. I hear ya, I’m on the same slowly, but surely type of comeback trail. Here’s hoping we can both get back into the habit again soon!

  13. At least you didn’t have to put “I was stuck in Afghanistan” on this list. Good to see you’re still blogging.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8γƒγƒΌγƒ‰γƒ«γŠγ¨γ“ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

