So, I Just Won the Lottery…


Luck is not to be coerced. ~Albert Camus

lotteryfever

I bought my $4 worth of Powerball tickets this morning. As the saying goes, I can’t win if I don’t play, right? According to the good folks in the media, my odds of winning are about 1 in 200 million. Or something like that. I have better odds on the following scenarios:

I will be elected President of the United States at some point (1 in 10 million)

I will, should I choose to have kids, produce quadruplets (1 in 700,000)

I will be struck by a meteor or asteroid in my lifetime (approximately 1 in 500,000)

I will give Dirk Benedict and Dwight Schultz my book manuscript, and it will become an instant bestseller (1 in Bwahahahahaha)

You see where I’m going with this. Winning the lottery is a fantasy, a whim, something to carelessly daydream about for five minutes of my day. I think about how I could buy my very own A-Team van, a private island, and hire the services of a helicopter pilot who looked a lot like H.M. Murdock. And then I actually thought about it. In so many ways, I have already won the lottery. Consider:

I have access to clean water and healthy, edible food without wondering where my next meal will come from.

I live in a country, albeit flawed, where I can speak my mind and practice my own belief system without fear of persecution.

As a woman, I have full access to my country’s government and am considered a real citizen.

I can read and write, and do so freely.

With so many adults, especially those in the autism spectrum, currently out of work, I have a job I like.

That sounds like a pretty good jackpot to me. Next time you throw your non-winning Powerball tickets in the trash, just take a moment and consider how many jackpots you’ve already won.

And if you do, by some miracle, win that big one, won’t you at least buy me lunch?

lottery-hell-yeah-i-won

If you won a big lottery jackpot, what would you do with the money?

~ by Howlin' Mad Heather on May 18, 2013.

6 Responses to “So, I Just Won the Lottery…”

  1. Reblogged this on La Perspective Parisienne and commented:
    This is a really humbling article. Guys… We’ve all won the lottery. Happy Saturday!

  2. I would start a school that is completely privately funded. It would be free to any student demonstrating a genuine desire to learn. It would not allow any politics in the classrooms beyond study of political theory and current events. Kids could celebrate any religious holidays they wanted, and they would be free to abstain from celebrating religious holidays without prejudice. Teachers would be paid living wages and would be recruited from people actually practicing in those fields. The learning tools would be pens, paper, books, and dry erase boards, forcing the teachers to actually interact with the students to teach them. There would be none of this nonsense of sitting kids down at computers for months on end and letting students “learn” from the digital programs. All students would begin the day with the US Pledge of Allegiance and a group nose thumb at state standardized testing. Sports would include track, soccer, karate, and a shooting team. . . . A girl can dream. πŸ™‚

    Good luck!

  3. I’d give half of it to charity and invest the other half.

  4. I know my husband would say move back to New Zealand. I would stock up on books I want to read first. Give some to charity and then travel. Prague first.

  5. I’d get an unlisted phone number, quick. Ooh! And I’d take you out for one hell of a lunch.

  6. Take care of family/friends. Buy land. Build a house up on the U.P. and get out of Dodge. MIght do the expat thing too if America really goes down the you-know-what! And I’d fund some animal shelters.

Leave a Reply

 
leaveyoursanity

abandonen toda esperanza aquellos que entren aqui

butimbeautiful

You - philosophical, thoughtful, witty. Me - still thinks fart jokes are funny. We should DEFINITELY get together!

her name was cassandra

and she was a shining star

Mr. Library Dude

Blogging about libraries, technology, teaching, and more

The A-Team Blog

past and present adventures of the A-Team

Sound Bytes Blog

Can you hear that?...It's baseball.

The Phil Factor

Where Sarcasm Gets Drunk and Let's Its Hair Down

Half Baked Log

Just another WordPress.com weblog

La Perspective Parisienne

Insight From an American Student Taking on Paris

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

The Other Side

...the inane ramblings of an Aussie Pagan Aspie Houswife

Library Lost & Found

library leaders dropping knowledge

marrymeknot

To be or not to be...married.

The Wish Factor

How did I get here...

SmellingCrayons

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Elements of Madness

Cinematic Reviews, Recommendations, and More

Baseball For Dinner

// m70//56-8γƒγƒΌγƒ‰γƒ«γŠγ¨γ“ v i s i o n

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

